No I’m not talking money…I’m talking about the amazing ‘The Book of Greens: A Cook’s Compendium of 40 Varieties, from Arugula to Watercress, with More Than 175 Recipes Hardcover ‘ by Jenn Louis and Kathleen Squires.

Now this is my kind of cook book. First off its a good size and hardcover which is a must in the kitchen. But what makes this book stand out is how its all set up.

I would like to point out the seasonal chart that breaks down the greens of the seasons. Its interesting to see what overlaps.

Now some of the greens I knew about but others not so much. Some I am pretty sure I will have a hard time finding, but that’s ok.

I like how ever green vegetable/herb is photographed. Then you have some facts about the greens and its varieties.

Telling you what season its in. How to choose, clean and store it. What I really like is the hint of how to refresh the greens. Because nothing is worst when it goes limp.

Some additional cooking methods and pairings of the greens are also listed.

Then come the recipes that are simple to follow which is good. Nothing worst them 40 steps. Also a wonderful picture of one of the finished meals.

As for the recipes we are not just talking salads but soups, fish, pasta, drinks, sweets, veggie/meaty main meals and some nice basics as well. So a really nice well rounded book. I mean you’ve got over 175 recipes your bound to like something.

So eat some greens and enjoy. And when all else fails put it into a pancake!

“I received this book from Blogging for Books for this review.”

