Tags

,

I was really excited to read about this part of American history in ‘The Apache Wars: The Hunt for Geronimo, the Apache Kid, and the Captive Boy Who Started the Longest War in American History by Paul Andrew Hutton. I had been watching a few Errol Flynn and John Wayne westerns at the moment that a times hint at this subject so I thought why not.

The first 50 to 100  pages of ‘The Apache Wars’ are good. You learn about Mickey’s kidnaping and also about Geronimo so I found that very intriguing as well as some of the traditions. Then it went down hill. This book has nothing but facts that just keep coming and coming. After a while you can’t tell the people apart, the places it really starts to slow down the book.

All the places listed listen I can’t keep every river and valley apart. Yes there is a map at the start of this book but you come to the point where you’ve flipped to much and are sick of it. Also all the tribes start to mix with each other and your eyes start to glaze over and you don’t remember what you’ve read for the last 20 or so odd pages.

I also found some stories being glossed over. Such as the mention of the kidnapping of Little Charley McComas. Well did they ever find him? Did he ever go back home? I mean the fact that I have to google the answer is just wrong. And ironic because the book is all facts.

This book also jumps around a lot which didn’t help. Which is where a timetable would have greatly helped.

The only thing I did enjoy was the old photo’s included in the book.

What one gets out of this book is that it was a very violent time.

If your hooked on this part of history and know the area and all the parties involved then this book is for you.

“I received this book from Blogging for Books for this review.”

