I am not a soap watcher but I know some people who are hooked on them and I wanted to know more about the behind the scenes process so that is why I picked up ‘My Life to Live How I Became the Queen of Soaps When Men Ruled the Airwaves’ by Agnes Nixon. Well that and the foreword was written by Carol Burnett, who’s book I had just read a while back (see review https://theworldisabookandiamitsreader.wordpress.com/2016/09/27/i-saw-it-in-the-window-and-just-had-to-have-it/ )

What I found interesting is how intense it is to write a soap or the even the process of writing for radio. The day in and day out of nothing but writing.

I enjoyed the first half of this book about Agnes Nixon growing up, her family and how she went from college to writing for radio. It had some funny moments. I did feel like the second half of the book dragged a little.

Such as when she talked certain story lines in her soap’s I felt a little lost. Maybe someone who watched the show and knew the characters it would have been great but for me it just kind of mingled together. (I won’t have minded a joke about how long soaps drag out a story line. )

But two things that bugged me were as follows:

She mentions her mother passing away, but I would like to have known how old her mother was.

The same when it says that Agnes Nixon died, well how old was she? Sure I could google it (which I did) but I want the information on hand then and there.

I did like that the book included Agnes Nixon’s entire script that got her started (and also why she wrote it)

I found it interesting how in a day before internet the audience was so connected with a show. And how it moved people to go to the doctor or ask for help. One really no longer gets that these days. Also having her show touch on some political and day to day themes was interesting. It seems she had the right balance on her show.

I would have liked to have seen a  few questions answered:

Did she feel its easier or harder to produce a show like this now a days?

Advice to any young writers?

Did she ever  appear on her show?

How would she have ended her shows?

So just a few things. I think if your a soap fan this book is for you.

“I received this book from Blogging for Books for this review.”

