You know I have never really been a fan of Hans Christian Andersen’s writings. I always find his stores a little too depressing for my taste. I knew the basic story for ‘The Snow Queen A Tale in Seven Stories’  by Hans Christian Andersen and Illustrated by Sanna Annukka.

Yes its the story of the snow queen (no not Elsa from Frozen). The story seems to be a shortened version of the tale. The story is so/so… there’s nothing I can really add to it.

However the drawings for this book are fantastic. So much detail and so well done. I almost wish there had been more drawings then text.

So if your really into fairytales, or into Hans Christian Andersen’s writings or just want to read the non Frozen  story then give it a try…but your eyes are very easily drawn away from the story and to the amazing drawings.

In the end it comes down like this. The snow queen story I would give a low rating because I’ve never been/or will be a fan of it but the drawings are what drew me to the book.  Story no, drawings yes.

“I received this book from Blogging for Books for this review.”

