You ever get a book that you hope you will like but you just know your not going to enjoy it and yet you try anyway?!?!

For me  ‘The Glorious Heresies: A Novel’ by Lisa McInerney is that book. Sure it won awards, and people are singing its praises and calling it funny, dark and complex but I must have gotten a different book because the book I read was none of those things.

I was expecting a story like ‘the girl with the dragon tattoo by Stieg Larsson’ mixed with ‘the 100 year old man who climbed out the window and disappeared by Jonas Jonasson’ instead my attention kept drifting to other house hold chores I still had to do. I also got a neck ache because I kept falling asleep.

I liked the idea of a number of stories coming together but I could care less about any of these characters and really had to keep flipping to the cover of the book to keep them all apart until I lost interest.

The cover did nothing for me either and really what sold me on even trying this book was the very funny description that I must say was better then the book.

In other words this was not the book for me.

“I received this book from Blogging for Books for this review.”

