I always try and say something nice so I will start by saying I liked the dedication at the start of the book….

I had just finished watching the The Shannara Chronicles on MTV so I was looking forward to reading a book about another post-apocalyptic futuristic world. So that is how ‘The Wolf Road: A Novel’ by Beth Lewis ended up in my hands.

I had a number of issues with this book. I never got the full sense of how much the world had changed I must admit. I would like to have had a better guess as to where the story plays out. I believe its British Columbia and the Yukon but I never got this full sense of the world they are now living in.

One already knows how the book will turn out in the first chapter with Elka’s confrontation with Trapper. Kind of predictable what will happen with the young boy so the shocking ending is not so shocking.

A very big issue with this book is that it is very, very slow. Way to much detail and thinking from elka that really does not move the story forward.

About half way into the book the story finally starts to pick up a little. This is about the time the wolf pops up as well as Penelope.

Elka and  Penelope are an interesting pair. But I wish the wolf had been used more.

Another issue is that this book is violent, very violent. Think hannibal lecter but that does not come out until the very end. I mean there is a big difference in hinting to the reader that the meat might NOT be deer or pig but to openly say it well…that’s something else. There is a fine line.

Also at times the accents drove me nuts but then other times it did not.

I wasn’t a fan of the ending either. You’d think  Magistrate Lyons would have forgiven and let Elka be but no.

I expected better. I wanted a faster pace, characters that popped more, more feeling of being in this world and less people eating…and no I’m not kidding about the last part.

“I received this book from Blogging for Books for this review.”

