If you cook you know you need Broth and Stock’s for certain meals. Sure most of us buy them in little dry cubes or even in cans but this book ‘Broth and Stock from the Nourished Kitchen: Wholesome Master Recipes for Bone, Vegetable, and Seafood Broths and Meals to Make with Them’ by: Jennifer McGruther will show you how to make your own.

This cook book gives a wonderful overview of the differences between broth and stock and even talks about bone broth/stock.

There are a number of good tips about what vegetables add a nice base to flavor and what ones can acaully harm/make your broth/stock taste off.

But wait there are also fish, greens and mushroom stock which was an interesting addition to the book. I had never really thought about mushroom stock I must admit.

The kitchen scrap broth yes that one I know that one very well.

I liked some of the recipes, such as the easy miso soup. But it also pointed out beef tea or morning broth, I’m not sure I’d make it but its an interesting fact to know.

All in all a good book to have. But one thing is clear a good cook book makes you want to cook and this one sure does.

“I received this book from Blogging for Books for this review.”

