Take a deep breath and hold on. ‘One Breath: Freediving, Death, and the Quest to Shatter Human Limits‘ by Adam Skolnick opened my eyes to a sport, competitive freediving, that I will not be perusing that’s for sure. What I do find amazing is that people are able to hold their breath for so long. We are talking 3 to 5 minutes long on say it with me ‘One Breath’.

The book starts out that we find out what happened to, Nick Mevoli, in the first chapter of the book. The book then transitions to flashbacks and then to the present. I would have liked that the chapters stated in large bold letters what year the chapter was in…i.e. was it 2014? Was it 2000?

I did find the book dragged a little too much in certain details. Such as X wanted to dive 90 meters but only did so and so with a clean run. After the 10th time I get it. I don’t need to hear about the protocol in detail every single time.

The book had pictures but I would also have liked to have seen more dive pictures such as how it looks like underwater, or the plate where the tags are located. The book also mentions a number of different world divers who after a while I found myself I was having a hard time keeping apart and wish there had been photo’s of all these people as well.

In the end its a tradagey that could have been avoided.

“I received this book from Blogging for Books for this review.”

