‘The Barefoot Queen’ by Ildefonso Falcones was a book I was very excited to read. The description sounded amazing and something I would enjoy reading about. Well I received the book and it was nothing like the description.

They say never judge a book by its cover…so true so true.
This book does not draw you in. I found myself not reading it for days.

First of all this book is long, far too long and I found myself losing interest. A book with over 600 pages is usually no issue when I read a good book but a bad book makes it drag and boy did it drag. It had a few moments of interest but the violence…the violence no, just no. I don’t need to know or read about all the violence that happens to these women. I could simply pick up my local paper and read the same thing…sadly.

I like to sit back and enjoy a book and sadly this is not one of those books.

“I received this book from Blogging for Books for this review.”

